> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > 2015 Riviera/ITA Women's All-American Championships Begin On Saturday

Riviera ITA Women's All-American Preview Graphic

– For the 30th consecutive year, the Riviera Tennis Club in Pacific Palisades, California, will serve as host for the Intercollegiate Tennis Association’s Women’s All-American Championships. The 2015 Riviera/ITA Women’s All-American Championships is the second national championship tournament of the 2015-16 season.

Pre-qualifying matches are slated to begin on Saturday, Oct. 3, at Pepperdine University, with qualifying matches starting on Oct. 6 and main draw contests getting underway on Oct. 8. The singles and doubles finals are scheduled for Oct. 11.

Main draw singles semifinalists, main draw doubles finalists and main draw consolation champions will receive automatic entry into the USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships, Nov. 12-15 at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing, New York.

Updated draws and main draw daily recaps can be found at the ITA Championship Central page http://www.itatennis.com/Events/ITANationalChampionships/WomensAllAmerican.htm. You can also follow the conversation Twitter by following @ITATennis and using the hashtag #RivieraITA.

Virginia’s Danielle Collins, fresh off her victory at the inaugural Oracle/ITA Masters, is one of nine players ranked in the Top 10 of the Oracle/ITA Preseason Division I Women’s National Singles Rankings that will compete at Riviera. Joining Collins in the singles draw is Cavaliers teammate Julia Elbaba (No. 3), Florida’s Brooke Austin (No. 2) and Josie Kuhlman (No. 5), Cal’s Maegan Manasse (No. 4), Miami (FL)’s Stephanie Wagner (No. 6), Vanderbilt’s Sydney Campbell (No. 7), North Carolina’s Hayley Carter (No. 9) and USC’s Giuliana Olmos (No. 10).

In doubles, Florida’s No. 1-ranked team of Austin and Kourtney Keegan headlines the draw. Other Top 10 duos scheduled to compete at Riviera are Cal’s Manasse and Denise Starr (No. 3), Vanderbilt’s Campbell and Courtney Colton (No. 4), Texas A&M’s Eva Paalma and Rachel Pierson (No. 5), Arizona State’s Desirae Krawczyk and Stephanie Vlad (No. 6), Georgia Tech’s Kendal Woodard and Paige Hourigan (No. 7), Pepperdine’s Matea Cutura and Christine Maddox (No. 8) and Notre Dame’s Quinn Gleason and Monica Robinson (No. 10).

Tournament Notes
-UCLA has had three players reach the championship match in the past two years. Robin Anderson was runner-up in 2013 (Jamie Loeb, North Carolina was the winner) and won the event in 2014, defeating teammate Chanelle Van Nguyen.

-A player from a Pac-12 school has won the Women’s All-American Singles Championship in 5 of the past 10 years (2014, 2010, 2008, 2007 and 2006).

-Prior to 2014, the Pac-12 won four straight doubles championships.

-Notable former winners include Jamie Loeb (2013, North Carolina); Nicole Gibbs (2011 doubles, Stanford); Irina Falconi (2009 singles and 2008 doubles, Georgia Tech); Raquel Kops-Jones (2003, California) and Jill Craybas (1995, Florida).

-Suzi Babos (2006-07, California); Zuzana Lesenarova (1998-99, San Diego); Paloma Collantes (1991-92, Ole Miss) and Sandra Birch (1989-1990, Stanford) are the only repeat winners in Women’s All-American history.

-Hillary Barte (2010, Stanford); Jessica Lehnhoff (2001, Florida); Zuzana Lesenarova (1999, San Diego) and Sandra Birch (1990, Stanford) won the singles and doubles championships in the same year.

-Florida, Stanford and Texas have each had four individuals win Women’s All-American Singles Championships, followed by Duke and Cal with three apiece.

-Stanford leads the way with 6 doubles championships, followed by Cal, Florida, Tennessee and Vanderbilt with two apiece.