> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Fields Set For 2018 ITA Division I National Team Indoor Championships Following Exciting Competition At 2018 ITA Kick-Off Weekend

Kick-Off Weekend Scroll-2018-01-24

TEMPE, Ariz. –
If the 2018 ITA Kick-Off Weekend taught us anything, it’s that the dual match portion of the collegiate tennis season is going to excite us on a weekly basis.

Many of the top seeds at #ITAKickOff were pushed to their limits, and others broke all together as a handful of No. 2, 3 and 4 seeds showed their strength and battled through a grueling weekend of competition.

Following the four-day affair that featured a total of 120 matches (60 per gender), the fields for next month’s ITA Division I National Team Indoor Championships are now set.

In women’s Kick-Off Weekend play, 11 of the 15 No. 1 seeds moved on to #ITAIndoors, including defending #ITAIndoors and NCAA National Champion Florida. Three No. 3 seeds punched their ticket for Madison, Wisconsin, with Ole Miss, Texas and Wake Forest all defeating No. 1 seeds (Oklahoma State, Cal and Ohio State, respectively) in their Kick-Off Weekend final.
The UCLA Bruins are the sole No. 2 seed to advance out of the women’s #ITAKickOff, as they topped No. 4 Northwestern in a thrilling 4-3 contest at Kentucky.

Notre Dame men’s tennis team impressed many with their two-day performance at #ITAKickOff. The Fighting Irish were the No. 4 seed in the Texas regional and they went on to top the host Longhorns and No. 2 seed Minnesota to advance to Seattle, Washington, for #ITAIndoors.

With Notre Dame leading the way, the ACC had the most teams qualify for #ITAIndoors with four. Wake Forest, the nation’s No. 1-ranked team, survived an opening round scare against Vanderbilt and are headed to Seattle, along with Duke and North Carolina.

All told, 10 of 15 men’s host sites advanced to #ITAIndoors.

The 2018 ITA Division I National Women’s Team Indoor Championship runs February 9-12, with the 2018 ITA Division I National Men’s Team Indoor Championship scheduled for February 16-19.

#ITAIndoors Women’s Qualifiers By Conference
SEC (6) – Auburn; Florida; Georgia; Ole Miss; South Carolina; Vanderbilt
ACC (4) – Duke; Georgia Tech; North Carolina; Wake Forest
Big 12 (2) – Texas; Texas Tech
Big Ten (1) – Michigan 
Pac-12 (1) – UCLA
West Coast Conference (1) – Pepperdine

#ITAIndoors Women’s Qualifiers By #ITAKickOff Seeds
No. 1 (11) – Auburn; Duke; Florida; Georgia; Georgia Tech; Michigan; North Carolina; Pepperdine; South Carolina; Texas Tech; Vanderbilt
No. 2 (1) – UCLA
No. 3 (3) – Ole Miss; Texas; Wake Forest

Wisconsin received an automatic bid due to serving as the host site for the 2018 Women’s #ITAIndoors

#ITAIndoors Men’s Qualifiers By Conference
ACC (4) – Wake Forest; North Carolina; Duke; Notre Dame
Pac-12 (3) – Stanford; UCLA; USC 
SEC (3) – Florida; Georgia; Texas A&M 
Big Ten (2) – Illinois; Ohio State
Big 12 (2) – Baylor; Oklahoma State
Ivy (1) – Columbia

#ITAIndoors Qualifiers By #ITAKickOff Seeds
No. 1 (10) – Baylor; Florida; Georgia; North Carolina; Ohio State; Oklahoma State; UCLA; USC; Texas A&M; Wake Forest
No. 2 (2) – Columbia; Stanford
No. 3 (2) – Duke; Illinois
No. 4 (1) – Notre Dame

Washington received an automatic bid due to serving as the host site for the 2018 Men’s #ITAIndoors