> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > ITA Announces 2016 Summer Circuit Dates And Locations

Summer Circuit 2016 Graphic-2016-03-04

– One of the fastest-growing events in all of tennis, the Intercollegiate Tennis Association’s Summer Circuit, announced its 2016 dates and locations on Thursday.

The 2016 ITA Summer Circuit will feature 50 tournaments spread across 24 states this summer, up from 36 in 2015. The summer circuit will run for six weekends, beginning the last weekend in June and continuing through the last weekend in July. Players that advance out of the qualifying tournaments will head to Bloomington, Indiana, to take part in the ITA Summer Nationals, held Aug. 13-16 at Indiana University.

“As the ITA serves college tennis, and beyond, the Summer Circuit provides important competitive play experiences for college players and prospective student athletes, the finest and most motivated players still competing as junior players,” said ITA Chief Executive Officer, Timothy Russell. “The 2016 Summer Circuit has been improved, as the ITA is working to enrich all of our programs and products. In offering a premiere opportunity for tennis players to continue developing their games throughout the summer season, the ITA is proud that this extensive program continues to gain prominence with its wide-ranging regional events culminating in a superb national championship.”

The ITA Summer Circuit, which began in 1993, provides college tennis players, along with junior players and alumni, the opportunity to compete in organized events during the summer months.

"Over the last two summers, the ITA Summer Circuit has seen a staggering twenty-six percent increase in overall participation,” said ITA Director of Championships, Cory Brooks. “Last year alone, over 4,100 entries were accepted during the course of the five-week circuit. A big part of the attraction is that the circuit is one of the few places where current and former college players, along with incoming college players and high-level juniors, can come together and compete on an equal playing field. We're thrilled to now be able to expand the number of playing opportunities to more players in more locations throughout the United States."

All of the 2016 ITA Summer Circuit events will be held on college campuses, a major focus of the ITA Summer Circuit committee, chaired by retired Western Michigan University women’s tennis coach, and ITA Board of Directors member, Betsy Kuhle.

“Because of the tremendous success of this circuit, it became apparent to the ITA that growing the circuit should be a primary goal. I am truly amazed at the number of coaches who are stepping up to help,” said Kuhle. “With a national schedule approach, the ITA 2016 Summer Circuit will expand from four weekends to six weekends with a total of 50 events being offered in 24 states, and all of these will be held on college campus facilities! I am thrilled at where the circuit is headed and look forward to this summer's ITA Summer Circuit."

2016 ITA Summer Circuit (http://www.itatennis.com/Events/ITA_Summer_Circuit.htm)

Week 1 – June 25-27
Abilene Christian University, Abilene, TX
Arizona Christian University, Phoenix, AZ
Florida State University, Tallahassee, FL
Northwestern University, Evanston, IL
Pomona-Pitzer, Claremont, CA
University of Denver, Denver, CO
University of Missouri-Kansas City, Kansas City, MO

Week 2 – July 2-4 (or 1-3)
Cal State Northridge, Northridge, CA
Elon University, Elon, NC
University of Georgia, Athens, GA
Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, MN
Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS
University of the Pacific, Stockton, CA
University of Texas at Tyler, Tyler, TX
Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, MI

Week 3 – July 8-10
University of Colorado Boulder, Boulder, CO
University of LaVerne, LaVerne, CA
Middle Tennessee State, Mufreesboro, TN
Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
Sacred Heart University, Fairfield, CT
University of Texas at Dallas, Dallas, TX
University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, VA
Wichita State University, Wichita, KS

Week 4 – July 16-18
University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL
Claremont Mudd Scripps, Claremont, CA
University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS
Linfield College, Linfield, OR
University of Louisville, Louisville, KY
University of Notre Dame, South Bend, IN
Rutgers University, Piscataway, NJ
UC Davis, Davis, CA
UNC-Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
UT-Arlington, Arlington, TX

Week 5 – July 23-25

Azusa Pacific University, Azusa, CA
University of Florida, Gainesville, FL
Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI
University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK
Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX
Wellesley College, Wellesley, MA
Furman University, Greenville, SC
Princeton University, Princeton, NJ

Week 6 – July 30-Aug. 1

Cal State LA, Los Angeles, CA
Cornell University, Ithica, NY
Georgia Gwinnett College, Lawrenceville, GA
Indiana University, Bloomington, IN
University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA
Metropolitan State University, Denver, CO
Sonoma State University, Sonoma, CA
Texas A&M University, College Station, TX
Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, NC