> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Intercollegiate Tennis Association Set For Tenth Annual Kick-Off Weekend

Kick-Off Weekend Scroll-2018-01-24

TEMPE, Ariz. –
The 10th annual Intercollegiate Tennis Association Kick-Off Weekend takes place January 26-29, 2018, at 24 different Division I tennis facilities across the country. In all, there are 60 teams competing per gender in ITA Kick-Off Weekend events.

There are 15 “regionals” played on both the men’s and women’s side, with four teams competing in each regional. The winners of the single-elimination event advance to next month’s ITA Division I National Team Indoor Championships. Wisconsin (women’s) and Washington (men’s) will serve as hosts for the National Team Indoors and received automatic invitations to the event, and are exempt from competing in the Kick-Off Weekend.

Host sites for the ITA Kick-Off Weekend were determined using the final 2016-17 Oracle/ITA Collegiate Tennis Rankings. A draft was held to fill the No.’s 2-4 seeds at all locations, again using the final national team rankings as a guide to determine draft order.

Opening round contests at each location pits the No. 1 (host) seed versus the No. 4 seed, and the No. 2 seed against the No. 3 seed. The two winners advance to the following day’s championship match, while the two losing teams will square off in a consolation match.

To view Kick-Off Weekend matchups for both men and women, visit the official event page. Results for each regional site will be updated throughout the weekend. You can also follow the conversation on social media by using the #ITAKickOff hashtag.

In 2017, teams that hosted ITA Kick-Off Weekend regionals fared exceptionally well, with 13 of 15 women’s teams, and 12 of 15 men’s teams, advancing to the ITA Division I National Team Indoor Championships. Last year also saw the first No. 4-regional seed (Ole Miss women) win a Kick-Off Weekend regional and qualify for the National Team Indoor Championships.

Florida (women) and Virginia (men) would go on to win the ITA National Team Indoor Championships, and both teams also claimed NCAA National Championships in 2017.