> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > TCU's Gray, Florida's Danilina Claim Top Singles Titles At 2017 Hall Of Fame ITA Grass Court Invitational

Grass Court Invitational Scroll-2017-09-15

Four singles champions were crowned on the final day of competition at the 2017 Hall of Fame ITA Grass Court Invitational, held on the grounds of the International Tennis Hall of Fame in Newport, Rhode Island.

The all-TCU men’s singles final in the Andy Roddick draw pitted doubles partners Alex Rybakov and Alastair Gray against each other, with the winner receiving a main draw wild card into the 2018 Dell Technologies Hall of Fame Open.

Gray, a freshman from Twickenham, England, defeated the junior Rybakov 6-3, 6-3 to claim the title and coveted place in the main draw of the ATP 250-level event. Rybakov, the No. 1 seed in the Andy Roddick draw and is ranked No. 12 in the Oracle ITA Division I Men’s National Preseason Rankings, earns a wild card entry into the qualifying draw of the Dell Technologies Open.

In the women’s Kim Clijsters draw, No. 4 seed Anna Danilina of Florida squeaked past No. 3 seed Jessie Aney of North Carolina 6-7, 6-1, 1-0 (7) to take home the title. Despite the loss, Aney received a place in the qualifying draw of a future $25,000-level USTA Pro Circuit event. Danilina was ineligible for the USTA Pro Circuit main draw spot.

Caleb Chakravarthi of Illinois, won the Gardner Mulloy flight. The No. 2 seed bested No. 4 seed Alex Phillips of Georgia in Sunday’s final. Maria Kononova of North Texas, the No. 1 seed in the Althea Gibson draw, slipped past LSU’s Eden Richardson, the No. 3 seed, in a third set tiebreaker 11-9 to finish the tournament with an unblemished record.

The 2017 Hall of Fame ITA Grass Court Invitational featured nine teams (Columbia, Illinois, Georgia and TCU men; Florida, LSU, North Carolina, North Texas and Princeton women) that competed in a flighted singles and doubles round-robin format. Visit the official event page to view results and daily recaps from the event.